Echoes from Flores de Vida n°4

July-August 2020

Texte alternatif

Full Sunshine

At Flores de Vida, the sky is blue, surprisingly so when you come from the city where it is always more or less veiled by pollution. The sun beats down hard, making it vital to take a break in the beginning of afternoon. Various strategies are necessary because of the heat. Strolling around with as little clothing as possible is one of them, as clothes don’t allow the skin to breathe, thus making the heat unbearable. Another one is seeking refuge under an old olive tree, or better yet, in the fresh shadow of a fig tree. Finally, there’s the possibility of building a shelter: in the picture above, the gazebo has been extended by a canopy made of cane stalks, supported by three ropes stretched from one olive tree to another and by an old tree trunk transformed into a central pole. The August team took great pleasure putting it up with the means available for our Fiesta Cruda buddies!

Texte alternatif

Preparation and conditioning of produce

Olives

If the harvest of olives is a big project in December, the follow-up of different procedures of conservation keeps one busy during the other periods of the year as well. One option is drying them (in the dryer-pickup) for three to four weeks. Another option is to put them in jars so that a lacto-fermentation process takes place with no need to add salt. This phase has to last for at least one year, and it happens in big glass jars. The olives, inedible at the moment of picking, become supple and savoury. Delicious. This summer Nat’, Annie and Sylvie put in bags of 300 g olives that had been fermenting since 2016! At first, they had to be “degassed” by laying them in the dryer for 24 hours, then conditioned before going through the vacuum packing machine, lend to us by David, a friend of Nat’s. These bags are then put on sale.

Almonds

Charlotte and Sylvie have prepared around twenty bags of 500 g of almonds picked last year. The bags are ready to serve as rewards during the crowdfunding campaign.

Zucchinis

Annie, Charlotte and Sylvie prepared zucchini chips with the produce harvested at Javier’s (see the section “What Are We Eating?”). They sliced the zucchinis with a mandolin and spread them on dryer grids (picture below). The slices are left for at least two or three days in the dryer so that they become nice and crispy. They are then conserved in big glass jars in the cellar.

 

Texte alternatif

The new pump is being installed

The new pump has been installed and will be functional in a few days once the start-up of the system of technical control has been finalized. There will then be only one tap to close and another one to open for all water inlets of the higher part of Flores de Vida (taps, showers, irrigation taps) to be supplied by the borehole from now on. It remains to be financed however, which is the principal motivation for the crowdfunding campaign that is in the works.

Texte alternatif

From Day to Day…

In the Vegetable Garden

The garden requires daily work that Nat’ cannot carry out when he’s alone on the site. Which has been the case quite frequently thus far. For this reason, the garden hasn’t yet produced anything this summer.

In the Orchard

All the trees have been abundantly watered during summer and many are about to deliver their production: nectarines, peaches, plums, but above all figs and grapes.

 

Experimental Eco-place

Online Team Gets Together!

The month of August will be rich in visits thanks to Fiesta Cruda and “Séjour de Ressourcement” (Revitalization Experience) and it has already allowed most of the online team members to meet “for real”. Joëlle, Pascale, Patricia, Christelle and Greg have been terribly missed.

It’s quite moving, when you have actively participated in online meetings and in the elaboration of communication tools in distance, to suddenly find yourself on the ground, in the middle of olive and fig trees, under the blazing sun! It’s quite moving as well to meet in person the people you’ve so far seen only in video conferences. The beginning of August was thus highly charged with very positive emotions!

The body gets little by little accustomed to the intense heat and the team also gets used to living together and to learning to cooperate in the real life. The land and the installations require a multitude of maintaining activities: making sure the irrigation system for trees is functioning, improving the supply system of the shower, or putting up little installations like the canopy or a protection for the trampoline, conditioning the produce or checking that water filters are filled, toilet buckets emptied, and all toilets equipped with toilet paper! Several people will be arriving during August and there needs to be a good organization in place for the work to be distributed smoothly.

Beautiful challenges of community life coming up and a passage to reality that will highlight the different issues of living together. With joy and an unshakable good will!

Texte alternatif

What Are We Eating?

Javier, an Organic Farmer

For the moment, the land provides little to eat apart from some bunches of grapes and the few already ripe apples and figs, and Nat’ buys the essential from one of the rare organic farmers in the region, Javier. His farm is located on the outskirts of Caspe. On Friday 7th August, the team went there to collect zucchinis, cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, and above all, a good pile of melons Piel de Sapo and magnificent watermelons. A little something to fill the bellies of the participants at Fiesta Cruda!

Calendar

Fiesta Cruda: from 10th to 12th August

 Séjour Ressourcement: from 16th to 22nd August

Night Walk

Picture taken from the plateau where the team meets regularly in the evening and which overlooks the site.

Texte alternatif

On the
Web!

Check the agenda of Flores

Visit the website (undergoing renovation)

See the interactive map of the team

Become a member of the association

Make a donation

Join the private Facebook group

Complete the questionnaire to participate​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​

Flores de Vida team, hola@floresdevida.org

 
Last modification: Saturday October 17th 2020 ∼ 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

Échos de Flores de Vida n°4

Juillet-Août 2020

Texte alternatif

Plein soleil

A Flores de Vida, le ciel est d’un bleu limpide, étonnant lorsqu’on vient de la ville où il est toujours voilé par plus ou moins de pollution. Le soleil y tape fort. Et la pause du début d’après-midi est indispensable. La chaleur oblige à des stratégies diverses. Se promener le moins habillé possible en est une car les vêtements empêchent la peau de respirer et rendent la chaleur insupportable. S’abriter sous l’ombre d’un vieil olivier en est une autre, ou mieux encore à l’ombre fraîche d’un figuier. Reste enfin la possibilité de construire un abri : sur la photo ci-dessus, la gloriette a été prolongée par un auvent de cannes supportées par trois cordes tendues d’un olivier à l’autre et par un vieux tronc reconverti en poteau central. L’équipe du mois d’août s’est régalée de le préparer avec les moyens du bord pour les copains de la Fiesta Cruda !​​​​​​​

Texte alternatif

Préparation et conditionnement de la production

Olives

Si la récolte des olives est un gros chantier du mois de décembre, le suivi des différents procédés de conservation occupe bien aussi les autres périodes de l’année. Une option consiste à les sécher (dans le van-séchoir) pendant trois à quatre semaines. L’autre option consiste à les mettre en bocaux pour que s’opère une lacto-fermentation, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’y ajouter du sel.  Cette phase doit durer au moins un an et se fait dans de grands bocaux en verre. L’olive, immangeable lorsqu’elle vient d’être cueillie, devient alors souple et goûteuse. Délicieuse. Cet été, Nat’, Annie et Sylvie ont mis en sachet, par portion de 300 g., des olives qui « lacto-fermentaient » depuis 2016 !  Il a fallu d’abord les « dégazer » en les mettant au séchoir 24h, puis les conditionner pour les passer dans la machine à mettre sous-vide, prêtée par David, un copain de Nat’. Ces sachets sont mis à la vente.

Amandes

Charlotte et Sylvie ont préparé une vingtaine de sachets de 500 g. d’amandes ramassées l’année dernière. Ces sachets sont prêts pour servir de contrepartie lors du crowdfunding. 

Courgettes

Annie, Charlotte et Sylvie ont préparé des chips de courgettes avec la récolte effectuée chez Javier (voir dans la rubrique : « Qu’est-ce qu’on mange »). Elles les ont débitées en tranches avec la mandoline puis les ont déposées sur les claies du séchoir (phot ci-dessous). Il faut alors les laisser deux à trois jours au moins dans le séchoir pour qu’elles deviennent bien croustillantes. Elles sont ensuite conservées dans de grands bocaux en verre à la cave.​​​​​​​

Texte alternatif

La nouvelle pompe en cours d’installation

La nouvelle pompe est installée et pourra servir dans quelques jours lorsque la mise en route du système de contrôle technique sera finalisée. Il n’y aura alors plus qu’un robinet à fermer et un autre à ouvrir pour que toutes les arrivées d’eau de la partie haute de Flores de vida (robinets, douches, robinets d’irrigation) soient désormais alimentées par le forage. Restera à la financer, motivation principale de la campagne de crowdfunding en cours de conception.

Texte alternatif

Au fil des jours…

Au potager 

Le potager demande un travail quotidien que
Nat’ ne peut fournir lorsqu’il est tout seul sur
le site. Ce qui est encore assez fréquent.
Le potager n’a donc rien produit cet été.

Au verger

Tous les arbres ont pu être abondamment
arrosés au cours de l’été et beaucoup sont
sur le point de « livrer » leur production:
nectarines, pêches, prunes, mais surtout
figues et raisins.

 

Ecolieu expérimental

L’équipe en ligne se rencontre !

Le mois d’août va connaître beaucoup de passages grâce à la Fiesta Cruda et au « Séjour Ressourcement » et il a notamment déjà permis à la plupart des personnes de l’équipe en ligne de se rencontrer « pour de vrai ». Ont manqué, cruellement, Joëlle, Pascale, Patricia, Christelle et Greg.

C’est assez émouvant, lorsqu’on a participé activement aux réunions en ligne et à l’élaboration à distance des outils de communication, de se retrouver soudain sur le terrain, au milieu des oliviers et des figuiers, sous un soleil de plomb ! C’est assez émouvant également de rencontrer pour de vrai les personnes que l’on n’a vues pour l’instant qu’en visio-conférence. le début du mois d’août a donc été très chargé en émotions très positives ! 

Le corps s’habitue petit à petit à la chaleur intense, et l’équipe s’habitue aussi petit à petit à vivre ensemble et à apprendre à coopérer dans la réalité. Le terrain et les installations nécessitent une foultitude d’activités d’entretien: s’assurer que le système d’irrigation des arbres fonctionne, améliorer le système d’alimentation de la douche, ou réaliser de petites installations comme le auvent ou la protection du trampoline, conditionner les productions ou vérifier que les filtres à eau sont remplis, les seaux des toilettes vides et que tous sont pourvus en papier ! Plusieurs personnes vont arriver durant ce mois d’août et une organisation va devoir se mettre en place pour que le travail se répartisse tranquillement. 

De beaux défis de vie commune en perspective et un passage au réel qui met en évidence les enjeux du « vivre ensemble ». Dans la joie et une bonne volonté inébranlable !

Texte alternatif

Qu’est-ce qu’on mange ?

Javier, le maraîcher bio

Le terrain fournit peu de choses à manger pour l’instant, si ce n’est quelques grappes de raisin, pommes ou figues déjà mûres, et Nat’ se fournit pour l’essentiel auprès de l’un des rares maraîchers  bio de la région, Javier. Son exploitation se situe en périphérie de Caspe. Le vendredi  7 août, l’équipe a été y cueillir courgettes, concombres, poivrons, tomates et surtout une belle quantité de melons Piel de SEquipe de Flores de Vida, hola@floresdevida.orgapo et de pastèques magnifiques. De quoi rassasier les participants de la Fiesta Cruda !

Agenda

Fiesta Cruda : du 10 au 12 août

Séjour Ressourcement : du 16 au 22 août

Promenade nocturne

Photo prise depuis le plateau où l’équipe se réunit régulièrement le soir, et qui surplombe le site.​​​​​​​Texte alternatif

Sur
la toile ! 

Voir la carte interactive de l’équipe

Visite le site web en cours de rénovation

Adhère à l’association

Fais un don

Rejoins le groupe privé Facebook

Complète le questionnaire pour participer

Equipe de Flores de Vida, hola@floresdevida.org

 
Dernière modification : samedi 17 octobre 2020 ∼ 11:14

Laisser un commentaire