Flores de Vida - La Nature 100%

Olives and Almonds Flores de Vida

Flores de Vida is also producer of olives, olive oil and almonds.
Well, okay, producer is perhaps a big word given the mini amounts put into play… In 2018 it was about 400 litres of oil, 150 kg of almonds and 500 kg of olives that have been available. Let’s say we sell the surplus.

In any case these are great products, because no additional product is used at any time of the cultivation, the harvesting, the processing or packaging of our products… more organic than Bio. The olives are harvested by hand, mature, with love in a 100% artisanal process.

The olives

Natural olives

The olives are prepared without any water, salt, spices or any other product. It is 100% the real taste of the olive. It is a very little known and yet absolutely extraordinary method. To know all about the process of preparing olives, we have some information in French.

Open the jar (or bag) at least one hour before consumption

The jar (or bag) is to be opened at least one hour before consumption to allow the carbonic gas to escape which was contained inside the olives. This gas is caused by this method of preparation and allows the preservation. However there is no danger in consuming the olives immediately at the opening but they are a bit strong in taste and somewhat sparkling.

As long as the jar has not been opened, the olives can be kept for years in the dark in a cool place. They are getting even more and more excellent. Vacuum bags can be kept for at least 1 year. We do not have experience for longer shelf times yet.

Keep cool after opening the jar or bag

It is also possible, in the case of a large jar, to open the jar, put a part of the olives in a small jar and quickly close the large jar. The olives will recreate the gassed atmosphere and keep for several more months (but perhaps not for years). This operation can be done 1 or 2 times by not opening the big jar in the meantime of course.

NB: glass jars are reserved for sale on site. For shipping we use the bags.

2 varieties of olives:

Bocal d'Empeltre Empeltre: The main variety we have here, a local one. The olive trees are already a few hundred years old. The real taste of the olive. Bocal de Sevillane Sévillane: The other variety of olives we have here. The olive trees are younger. The olives are larger and have a sweeter flavour.

Olive oil

The olive oil1st cold pressure
It is a very soft oil with subtle flavor and very low acidity… just happiness.

The olives are harvested by hand, at maturity, and the pressing is done at Maella in an old-fashioned mill. The olives are crushed between the millstones and simply cold pressed.

NB: glass bottles are reserved for sale on the spot. For shipping we use plastic bottles. 5-litre cans are recycled drinking water cans from friends who consume water like this. They were rinsed and dried before filled with the oil.

The conservation

The best way to conserve the oil is to put it in glass bottles and in the dark in a cool, but not cold place. The ideal temperature is between 15 °C and 20 °C. It may be, if you get the oil in the winter, that it freezes during transport because of the cold. This is not problematic and once put to room temperature it will regain its fluidity in a few hours. It is better, however, that this process is not repeated to often. Once in a while is not a problem, but it is better to avoid it freezes/defiges every day. Especially when this happens do not put the oil on a radiator to speed up the process. Let it unfreeze quietly.

The decantation

The oil has not been filtered because it is better the less it is treated. A filter constrains the oil and we lose something. So it’s just decanted and that takes time. To get a clear oil as in the photo it takes 2-3 months. It may be, if it happens to you shortly after pressing, that it is still cloudy. Also this is not a problem and it can be consumed as well. It will be clarified little by little (if you do not move too much) and a slight deposit will appear in the bottom of the bottle. This is all part of the normal settling process.

The almonds

Almonds in shellsAlmonds preserved in a cool and dark place retain their germination power for years, which means that they remain alive what is not the case with cracked almonds.

At the health level, the ideal is to soak the almond kernels in the water for one night before consumption. They come out of their dormancy and will bring us life. They are also more digestible (if you do not forget to chew well) because enzymes appear which participate in digestion.

The almonds are also harvested by hand… with love.

Recycling

Recycling is an integral part of the ecological approach. We use recycled containers and materials as much as possible to minimize the impact on the planet’s resources. That is also part of making organic products. It makes no sense for us to offer natural products and at the same time to participate in the exhaustion of the planet. Cartons and packaging materials are 100% recycled too (apart from the tape). Of course, if we were to produce thousands of litres of oil and tons of olives, it would certainly be different, but at the moment it’s good like that. We therefore invite you to recycle as much as possible, in particular by recovering glass bottles to conserve the oil.

The origin

Where do the products come from?
Olives, olive oil and almonds come exclusively from Flores de Vida, Aragon (Spain), near Maella. The cultures are made according to the principles of Permaculture (no labours, permanent soil cover and associated cultures). We do not use any product of treatment and even the products allowed in organic farming are not used here, especially not copper sulphate (Bordeaux porridge) that is allowed for Bio products and very commonly used but a real poison.

Information and ordering

All the information about the products and the ordering and shipping process:
Product catalog
The ordering and shipping process
Detailed info about the products
Order form (MS Word)
Order form (PDF)

 
Last modification: Friday November 29th 2019 ∼ 8:33 pm

Flores de Vida - La Nature 100%

Olives et Amandes Flores de Vida

Flores de Vida est aussi producteur d'olives, huile d'olive et amandes !!!
Bon, d'accord, producteur est peut-être un bien grand mot, vu les quantités mini-mini mises en jeu… En 2018, ce sont environ 400 litres d'huile, 150 kg d'amandes, et 500 kg d'olives qui ont été disponibles. Disons que nous revendons le surplus.

En tous cas, ce sont de super produits, car aucun produit chimique ou naturel n'est utilisé à aucun moment de la culture, récolte, transformation ou conditionnement des produits … plus bio que le Bio. Les olives sont récoltées à la main, à maturité, avec amour et tout le processus est 100 % artisanal.

Les olives

Olives à la Naturelle

Les olives sont préparées sans aucun apport d'eau, de sel, d'épices ou de quelque produit que ce soit. C'est 100 % le vrai goût de l'olive. C'est une méthode très peu connue et pourtant absolument extraordinaire. Pour tout savoir sur le procédé de préparation des olives : Faire soi-même ses olives.

Ouvrir le bocal (ou sachet) minimum 1h00 avant consommation

Le bocal (ou sachet) est à ouvrir minimum 1h00 avant consommation pour permettre au gaz carbonique contenu présent dans les olives de s'échapper. Ce gaz est dû au mode de préparation et c'est lui qui permet la conservation. Il n'y a toutefois aucun danger à consommer les olives tout de suite à l'ouverture, mais elles sont un peu fortes en goût et quelque peu pétillantes.

Tant que le bocal n'a pas été ouvert, les olives peuvent se conserver des années, à l'obscurité, dans un endroit frais. Elles sont même de plus en plus excellentes. Les sachets sous vide se conservent au moins 1 an. Nous n'avons pas encore l'expérience de durée plus longues pour les sachets.

A conserver au frais après ouverture du bocal ou du sachet.

Il est aussi possible, dans le cas d'un grand bocal, d'ouvrir le bocal, mettre une partie des olives dans un petit bocal, et refermer rapidement le grand bocal. Les olives vont recréer l'atmosphère gazée et se conserver pendant encore plusieurs mois (mais peut-être pas pendant des années). Cette opération peut se faire 1 ou 2 fois, en n'ouvrant pas le grand bocal entre temps, bien entendu.

NB : les bocaux en verre sont réservés à la vente sur place. Pour la vente par correspondance, ce sont uniquement les olives en sachet.

2 variétés d'olives :

Bocal d'Empeltre Empeltre : La principale variété que nous avons ici, une variété locale. Les oliviers ont déjà quelques centaines d'années. Le vrai goût de l'olive ! Bocal de Sevillane Sévillane : L'autre variété d'olives que nous avons ici. Les oliviers sont plus jeunes. Les olives sont plus grosses et de saveur plus sucrée.

L'huile d'olive

L'huile d'oliveHuile d'olive 1ère pression à froid
C'est une huile très douce à la saveur subtile et à très faible acidité… juste du bonheur.

Les olives sont récoltées à la main, à maturité et le pressage est fait à Maella, dans un moulin à l'ancienne. Les olives y sont broyées à la meule de pierre et pressées simplement pressées à froid.

NB : les bouteilles en verre sont réservés à la vente sur place. Pour la vente par correspondance, c'est uniquement en bouteille plastique. Les bidons de 5 litres sont des bidons d'eau minérale recyclés venant d'amis qui consomment de l'eau en bidons. Ils ont de plus été rincés et séchés avant de recevoir l'huile.

La conservation

Le mieux pour conserver l'huile est de la mettre en bouteilles verre et à l'obscurité dans un endroit frais, mais pas froid. L'idéal est entre 15 °C et 20 °C. Il se peut, si tu reçois l'huile en hiver, qu'elle ait figé pendant le transport, à cause du froid. Ce n'est pas gênant et une fois mise à la température ambiante d'un appartement, elle va en quelques heures retrouver sa fluidité. Il vaut mieux toutefois qu'elle ne soit pas trop souvent soumise à ce processus. Une fois de temps en temps n'est pas un problème, mais il vaut mieux éviter qu'elle ne fige/défige tous les jours. Surtout, lorsque cela arrive, ne la mets pas sur un radiateur pour accélérer le processus. Laisse-la défiger tranquillement.

La décantation

L'huile n'est pas filtrée car moins on la bidouille mieux cela vaut. Un filtre contraint l'huile et on perd quelque chose. Elle est donc juste décantée … et ça prend du temps. Pour obtenir une huile claire comme sur la photo, cela prend 2 à 3 mois. Il se peut donc, si elle t'arrive peu après le pressage, qu'elle soit encore trouble. Ce n'est pas gênant et elle peut tout-à-fait être consommée ainsi. Elle va se clarifier peu à peu (si on ne la bouge pas trop) et un léger dépôt va apparaître dans le fond de la bouteille. Tout ça fait partie du processus normal de décantation.

Les amandes

Amandes en coqueLes amandes conservées en coque dans un endroit frais et à l'obscurité conservent leur pouvoir de germination pendant des années, ce qui signifie qu'elles restent vivantes. Ce qui n'est pas le cas des amandes décortiquées.

Au niveau santé, l'idéal est de faire tremper les amandes dans l'eau pendant une nuit avant consommation. Elles sortent ainsi de leur dormance et vont nous apporter de la vie. Elles sont également plus digestes (si on n'oublie pas de bien mastiquer) car des enzymes de vie apparaissent, qui participent à la digestion.

Les amandes sont également récoltées à la main … avec amour.

Le recyclage

Le recyclage fait partie intégrante de la démarche écologique.
Nous utilisons au maximum des récipients et matériaux recyclés pour limiter le plus possible l'impact sur les ressources de la planète. Faire du bio c'est aussi cela. Cela n'a pour nous aucun sens de proposer de produits naturels et en même temps de participer à l'épuisement de la planète. Les cartons et matériaux d'emballage sont 100 % recyclés, également (à part le scotch). Bien sûr, si nous produisions des milliers de litres d'huile et des tonnes d'olives, ça serait certainement différent, mais pour le moment c'est bien comme ça. Nous t'invitons donc à recycler le plus possible, notamment en récupérant des bouteilles verre pour y conserver l'huile.

L'origin

D'où viennent les produits ?
Les olives, l'huile d'olive et les amandes viennent exclusivement de Flores de Vida, en Aragon (Espagne), près de Maella. Les cultures sont faites suivant les principes de la permaculture (pas de labours, couverture permanente du sol, et cultures associés). Nous n'utilisons absolument aucun produit de traitement, et même les produits autorisés en agriculture bio n'ont pas cours ici, notamment le sulfate de cuivre (bouillie bordelaise) qui est autorisé en bio, et très couramment utilisé, et qui est un véritable poison.
…plus bio que le Bio !!!

Information et commande

Toutes les infos sur les produits et le processus de commande/livraison :
Catalogue produits
Le processus de commande/livraison
Infos détaillées sur les produits
Bon de commande (MS Word)
Bon de commande (PDF)

 
Dernière modification : jeudi 13 juin 2019 ∼ 18:42